Mushroom, Hazelnut and Sage Pate – vegan

Mushroom, Hazelnut and Sage Pate

 

I buy mushrooms in those big value packs from the supermarket as they work out somewhat cheaper than the small packs do and we adore mushrooms in our house! However this usually frugal strategy occasionally results in a sudden realisation that I have a whole load of mushrooms in the fridge that need using ASAP! If you find yourself in a similar situation and without a plan for them, then mushroom pate is the answer.

While the classic French duxelles is always a winner when faced with how to quickly make use of lots of mushrooms, it’s also nice to play with alternative ideas for variety and I’ve used sage and toasted hazelnuts in this instance, which I think make a genuinely delicious combination.

As we’re moving into the early part of autumn, my herb patch is becoming more straggly and the annuals and biennials have all pretty much been exhausted, so it’s the perennial woody herbs I turn to more often now, with the sage used here being a case in point.

As for homemade veggie pates, they are most definitely far tastier, cheaper and more wholesome than shop bought alternatives. Once prepared, they also make a great easy and quick breakfast, lunch or supper option.  Or alternatively don your walking boots and take this pate with you on a woodland picnic, along with a lovely crusty loaf and a couple of ripe English apples!

 

Mushroom, Hazelnut and Sage Pate – vegan

Ingredients

  • 12 oz mushrooms
  • 1 small onion, peeled and quatered
  • 1 handful (about 1/4 oz) fresh sage leaves
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp soya sauce
  • 4 oz hazelnuts, toasted and skinned
  • salt and black pepper to taste

Method

  1. Put mushrooms, onion and sage in a food processor and process till very fine.
  2. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a large frying pan, then add the mushroom mixture to the pan. Sprinkle with a little salt to encourage the mushrooms to release their moisture.
  3. Cook processed mushrooms until the liquid is almost all evaporated, and the mushroom mixture begins to firm up. Add in the soya sauce and cook briefly.
  4. While mushrooms are cooking, put hazelnuts into food processor and process to a fine texture is achieved. While processing add 1 tbsp olive oil to the processor to help the hazelnuts form a nutty paste.
  5. Once mushrooms are cooled, return to processor along with the hazelnuts and process a second time to blend mushroom and hazelnut mixtures together.
  6. Lastly season with plenty of black pepper and a little more salt if desired.
  7. Serve generously spread over hunks of wholemeal toast, or on crispy oat cakes.
30 comments
  1. antheahawdon said:

    That looks so good! I have some mushrooms in the fridge that I should really use up quickly, too! I might use mushroom ketchup rather than soy sauce, though.

    • I don’t normally brag but it’s pretty tasty! As for Mushroom Ketchup, absolutely it’s wonderful stuff and would be just perfect for a mushroom pate. I don’t often get it in as it can be tricky to source unless you go to a higher-end supermarket like Waitrose – who I believe do stock.

      • antheahawdon said:

        I’m making it this weekend. I have to say I’ve never had a problem getting mushroom ketchup – Tescos and Sainsbury’s stock it, and I think I’ve seen it in ASDA – generally next to the anchovy essence. It’s one of those strange survivors from another age and I’m always surprised that it is still stocked.

      • You’re absolutely right, I just took a look at my supermarket and it seems everyone stocks it, which is good news! I guess it’s just the supermarkets near me? I will be sure to check out the big Tesco’s in the next town, when I drop in. I know what you mean about ‘another age’ such a charming antiquated design on the bottle that they’ve obviously never ‘updated’, Euthymol toothpaste is another brand I like that retains the original packaging design. Hope you enjoy the pate!

      • antheahawdon said:

        I just made this, with a bit of adjustment to fit in with what I had in the cupboard – a mix of almonds and walnuts and some tarragon instead of the sage. It was so good!

      • Tarragon would be great; must remember to grow some next year. Many thanks for the nice feedback! Oh, and I just discovered Mushroom Ketchup is three for two at Waitrose right now, a good excuse to stock up on some! Have a good weekend!

  2. I’ve never made or eaten mushroom pate before but I think I’m going to have to change that asthis looks wonderfully rich and delicious :)

    • Yeah you should try it! Mushroom pate, when cooked right down and concentrated, is super savoury and moreish!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m pleased to have found yours with your delicious recipes. You take much better photos than me!

    • Thanks so much for the nice compliments! I’m nowhere as good as some of the blogs out there (some are so professional!), but I try my best to make stuff look appetising, which isn’t always easy with brown wholefoods! :D

  4. I love mushrooms, and this looks like the best way EVER to indulge myself! Great recipe! Celeste :)

  5. This is right up my street- i usually end up with the same mushroom dilemma. plus, my sage plant is giving me the look! Beautiful inspiration pickle xxx

    • Ha, you have much more interesting relationships with your herb plants than I do! :)

  6. My family adore mushrooms (we clearly have very similar tastes to yourself!) and I’m so excited by your wonderful recipe. I’ve got sage and cob nuts growing in the garden and they could be perfect for this pate. I can’t wait to give it a try!

    • Ooh, I’d love some nut trees in our garden! I’m going to look into planting a cobnut tree this autumn I think. Hope you enjoy the pate :)

  7. Sophie33 said:

    MMMMMM,!!!!What a,lovely home-made spread! Love it too! MMMMMM! 😀

  8. We love everything that has something to do with mushrooms!!!

    What a cool blog! We’re two struggling vegans and are grateful for any inspiration!

    Thanks and greetings from Germany,

    Birdy and Bambi

    http://lasagnolove.blogspot.de/

    • I agree, mushrooms are great and especially for a meat-free diet! Thanks for dropping by and commenting :)

    • Mushroom and black garlic pate? Sounds super rich and savoury, I will look that up! Thanks for commenting :)

  9. jen said:

    I’m not a huge fan of mushroom pate but this sounds tasty with the hazelnuts!

    • Yeah, I love the combo of nuts with mushies, so savoury and dare I say ‘meaty’ :)

  10. Alastair said:

    This looks lovely. I love mushrooms in every form, so I can’t wait to try it :-)

    • Cheers, I think the combination of mushrooms with nuts and herbs works nicely in a pate. Super savoury.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

